The First Stake President of the St. Johns Stake

  • David K. Udall was the first President of the St. Johns Stake, Elijah Freeman and William Gibbons were his counselors. David K. Udall served as Stake President from July 23, 1887 to 1922, a span of 35 years.
  • The St. Johns Stake included St. Johns, Springerville and Eagar, Vernon, Rama, Sanders, and Gallup New Mexico. Travel was slow and the means of communication were difficult.
  • After being released as stake president, Pres. David King Udall was called to be the first president of the Arizona Temple in Mesa, Arizona.

Posted on May 21, 2010, in History of Pioneer Days. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The First Stake President of the St. Johns Stake.

Comments are closed.